Tags

I recently came across an interesting application on Tech Time which allowed me to calculate how much time I have wasted on Facebook since I created my profile in 2011. I simply connected it to my Facebook login and within three minutes the tool calculated my wasted time on Facebook based on my number of posts and how long I have been a member.

Okay, here are my thoughts…

1. What actually constitutes as “wasted time” on Facebook?
The brief description of the application states that the app “runs through the timestamps on every post in your feed until it reaches the earliest one, which it uses as the estimated date that you created your profile.”

But this is to assume that every post I make is a waste of time. What if I am posting on a group page created for my Biology class to help study for an exam? Or what if I am posting an article on the upcoming presidential elections? Or, although I have not yet done so, what if I was simply posting a link to my favorite Thanksgiving recipe?

Are all these posts a waste of time?  Yes, I do admit that I probably spend more time on Facebook then I should…but every post I make is a personal choice. So if it is my own personal decision, how could anyone say that these posts are a waste.

2. It is my life, so who really cares how I spend my time?
I personally think there are a lot worse things I could be doing then wasting my time scrolling through my newsfeed on Facebook and posting variously during the day. Although I agree that all social media has drastically influenced how we live our lives, does anyone have room to judge?  Should we be worried that today more children are spending time on Facebook then playing outside? However, it’s their life…should we care that much?

3. Shouts to all my JOMC 240 peers!
Pretty sure this supports a lot of our discussion on Monday regarding our media diets. I would be interested in comparing each of our application results in class next Monday.  Hey Professor Robinson…could we try it out?  Maybe we as a class could create an application that does the same thing for Twitter.  Although, it probably has already been done….oh well, there goes my “fear of missing out” again.

And to all of you who are curious, here are my personal results. I wonder if anyone has me beat??? Good luck!
Created Profile: April 18th, 2011
Facebook is 3,647 days old and I have been a part of it for 1,016 days
Number of Posts: 1,974
Time Wasted: 11 days, 23 hours, and 30 minutes (that’s roughly a whole spring break….yikes!!!!!)

http://techland.time.com/2014/01/27/how-much-time-have-you-wasted-on-facebook/

